Prof. Larry R. Dalton

  • Dalton Group Website:
  • Dr. Larry R. Dalton is the B. Seymour Rabinovitch Chair Professor and the George B. Kauffman College Professor of Chemistry and Electrical Engineering Emeritus at the University of Washington.  He received his B.S. from the Honors College of Michigan State University (1965) and his Ph.D. from Harvard University (1971).  He has co-authored over 600 articles and books on topics ranging from density matrix theory and magnetic resonance to multi-scale theoretical methods and the development of advanced electro-optic materials and devices. 

    Awards and honors include a 2015 Helmholtz International Fellow Award for Excellent Researchers and Science Managers from Abroad, the 2011 Linus Pauling Medal, a 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award from the SPIE-International Society of Optics and Photonics, the 2006 IEEE/LEOS William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award, the 2003 Chemistry of Materials Award of the American Chemical Society, the 1996 Richard C. Tolman Medal, a QEM/MSE Network 2005 Giants in Science Award, the Larry Dalton Festschrift Issue of the Journal of Physical Chemistry (Vol. 112, no. 21, May 29, 2008), American Chemical Society, an award honoring his contributions to research and education sponsored by Norfolk State University, the NSU Center for Materials Research and the Materials Research Society Student Chapter (2012), the Special Symposium on Nonlinear Optical Polymers (SPIE Optics + Photonics Conference, San Diego 2008) honoring the contributions of Larry Dalton, an AFRL Wright Brothers Centennial Award, a 2000 Michigan State University Distinguished Alumni Award, the 1990 University of Southern California Associates Award for Creativity in Research and Scholarship, a 1986 Burlington Northern Foundation Faculty Achievement Award, an NIH Research Career Development Award, a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, and an Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship. 

    He is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society (Inaugural Class), the Materials Research Society, the Optical Society of America, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the SPIE, a senior member of IEEE, and a member of the Washington State Academy of Sciences.  Endowed lectureships include the University of Tennessee College of Engineering Distinguished Lectureship (2012), the 2012 Department of Energy CNMS Discovery Lectureship, the 2011 Lloyd N. Ferguson Distinguished Lectureship of California State University (Los Angeles), the University of Utah College of Science Frontiers of Science Lectureship and Davern/Gardner Laureateship (2007), the Dow/Karabatsos Lecture Series and the Alumni Distinguished Lectureship of Michigan State University (2005), the 2004 AFRL Materials, Manufacturing & Enabling Technologies Wright Centennial Lectureship, the 2003 Eastman Lectureship of the University of Akron, 2002 Lecturer of the National Science Foundation Distinguished Lecture Series, the Paul C. Cross Lectureship of the University of Washington (1996), and the NASA Lectureship, Fifty-Fourth Frontiers in Chemistry Lecture Series of Case Western Research University (1995).